top of page

Isomura Brothers presents

F   rom  N e w  Z e a l a n d  to  J a p a n  and  B a c k

In 2017, the Isomura Brothers held a charity concert tour known as the 'Tsunami Violin Concert Tour' consisting of 10 North Island pre-tour concerts and the main tour concerts at the Wellington St Andrews on the Terrace, Christchurch Transitional Cathedral and at the Auckland Town Hall Concert Chamber which became a sold out concert. The Isomura Brothers were given the greatest privilege to perform on the special instrument for the first time in history in New Zealand.

The tour was part of a world project involving a thousand violinists performing in relay on the special 'Tsunami Violin' made in remembrance of the deceased and with aspiration of hope to the survivors of the Tohoku Earthquake & Tsunami in Japan and of the people  around the world who suffered through similar tragedies across the globe such as in the 2011 Christchurch Earthquake in New Zealand.

After the conclusion of the tour, the violin was returned to the creator of the violin, Mr. Muneyuki Nakazawa (Tokyo) himself by Shauno.


In April this year, the Isomura Brothers will be embarking on a tour named the 'Japan Concert Series' - delivering the profit gathered and the prayers and thoughts we felt through the Tsunami Violin Tour in New Zealand over to Japan, and then bringing the music back to New Zealand!


The concert tour will involve guests artists, collaborations and premiere works, with the programme comprising of music by renowned classical composers and modern masterpieces by composers in Japan and New Zealand. The concert series will be held in Japan and New Zealand.


P  erformers & Guests

Isomura Brothers

Kent Isomura - piano | Shauno Isomura - violin (NZ)

New Zealand Born and Raised Classical Duo, The Isomura Brothers consist of Kent Isomura (piano) and Shauno Isomura(Violin). They have presented concerts all over the globe together and individually and as an ensemble in countries including USA, China, Japan, Malta, Germany, New Zealand and have been concerto soloists with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, Christchurch Symphony Orchestra, International Akaroa Music Festival Orchestra and the University of Auckland Symphony Orchestra. They have great passion in delivering music of their origin - Japan and New Zealand to wider audiences, and have presented World and/or New Zealand Premieres of works by composers including Yasushi Akutagawa, Akira Ifukube, Xu Tang, Toshiaki Komori and Takayuki Hattori.

Performing in: ALL VENUES

Hiroko, Kondo

Violinist:Concert Master - Okayama Philharmonic Orchestra (JP)

Hiroko is an acclaimed violinist and concert master of the Okayama Philharmonic Orchestra. She was appointed as member of the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra soon after her graduation from the Tokyo University of the Arts and in 1993 appointed as Leader of the 2nd violins, and quickly building her career - taking her to her current position of Concert Master. The Okayama Philharmonic Orchestra performs under the baton of former Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Conductor & Oboeist Hansjörg Schellenberger, whom Hiroko regularly performs as a soloist with.

Performing in: OKAYAMA

Xu, Tang

Composer (NZ)

Xu Tang is a composer based in in New Zealand. He holds a Master of Music with First Class Honours in Composition at the University of Waikato. Xu has been a winner in numerous competitions including the 2014 & 2013 Lilburn Trust Composition Competition, 2017 Osmose Intermezzo International Composition Competition, and the 2017 RMN Classical International Composition Competition for piano solo works 2017. Xu’s work has been performed by a wide range of artists in around the globe including some world renowned musicians including Jelena Makarova (Russia), Guillaume Lagraviere (Europe), Bruno Ispiola (Europe), prof. Richard Aaron (USA), Santiago Canon-Valencia (Columbia) just to name a few.

Premiering: JI, for violin & piano

Appearing at: TOKYO, OKAYAMA

Toshiaki, Komori

Composer (JP)

Toshiaki Komori is one of the foremost young composers & pianist of Japan.

His compositions have gained various awards including the Japan Symphony Foundation Composition Prize, Tokyo International Chamber Music Composition Prize, AAC Sounds Performance Prize, Experimental Sounds, Art & Performance Festival Prize.

Multiple works by Komori have been published by Japans renowned music publishers including Ongaku-no-tomo-sha, JFC, Irene and recordings by JFC, JILA, Chap Chap Records. 

Toshiaki Komori has exclusively arranged his Lament to Higashi-Nihon Natural Disaster (2011) for the Isomura Brothers and will be premiered at the Tour.

Premiering: Contemplation of Stars, for solo violin

New Arrangement: Noblesse Oblige, for solo piano

Appearing at: TOKYO

Concert venues

C oncert venues



TOKYO, Casa Mozart - Thank you!

Programme: 2   with guest: Toshiaki Komori, Xu Tang

TICKETS: Sold Out,



OKAYAMA, Renaiss Hall - Thank you!

Programme: 1    with: Hiroko Kondo   with guest: Xu Tang

TICKETS: Sold Out, Okayama ticket centre 086-234-2010

Renaiss Hall 086-225-3003



NAOSHIMA, Benesse House - Thank you!

Programme: mini concert

TICKETS: No longer available



NAOSHIMA, Benesse House - Thank you!

Programme: mini concert

TICKETS: No longer available



YAMADA-MACHI, Yamada Youchien - Thank you!

Programme: Special Programme

TICKETS: No longer available

08 MAY 


TOMAKOMAI, Tomasin Hall  - Thank you!

Programme: 2

TICKETS:  Sold Out, Tomasin Partners   0144-56-5026


P rogramme

Programme 1

Performed at: Okayama

Programme 2

Performed at: Tomakomai, Tokyo

Jean-Marie, Leclaire

Sonata for 2 violins in e minor Op.3, No.5

   I. Allegro ma poco

   II. Gavotte. Andante gracioso

   III. Presto

John, Psathas (nz)

Jettatura, for solo piano

John, Psathas (nz)

Gyftiko, for solo violin

Toru, Takemitsu (jp)

From Far Beyond Chrysanthemums and November Fog

Xu, Tang (nz)    World premiere  

JI, for violin and piano

Pablo de, Sarasate

Zigeunerweisen, Op.20

- Interval -

Johannes, Brahms

Sonata for violin & piano No.1 in g minor

   I.  Vivace ma non troppo

   II. Adagio-Più andante-Adagio

   III. Allegro molto moderato

Moritz, Moszkowski

Suite for 2 violins & piano

   I. Allegro energico

   II. Allegro moderato

   III. Lento assai

   IV. Molto vivace

Takayuki Hattori (jp)

Sanadamaru, for violin & piano

John, Psathas (nz)

Jettatura, for solo piano

John, Psathas (nz)

Gyftiko, for solo violin

Toru, Takemitsu (jp)

From Far Beyond Chrysanthemums and November Fog

(Tokyo Only)

Toshiaki, Komori (jp)     New Arrangement  

Noblesse Oblige, for solo piano

Toshiaki, Komori (jp)    World premiere  

Contemplation of Stars, for solo violin

Yasushi, Akutagawa (jp)

Ballata, for violin and piano

Xu, Tang (nz)    World premiere  

JI, for violin and piano

Ryuichi, Sakamoto (jp)

Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence

Pablo de, Sarasate

Zigeunerweisen, Op.20

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

Fritz, Kreisler

Praeludium and Allegro, in the Style of Pugnani

(Performed by Request - Tomakomai Only)


Concert Series brought to you by Isomura Brothers

In Association with Fukutake Foundation, Okayama Music Society, Yamada-machi Youchien, Casa Mozart Music Association, Tomakomai New Zealand Society, Tomakomai Shinyou Kinko, Tomasin Partners, Benesse House, Tsunami Violin Project Japan. Music performed under registration and permission of JASRAC. Special Thanks to Okayama Philharmonic Orchestra, Hiroko Kondo, Toshiaki Komori, Xu Tang.

bottom of page