top of page
  • Isomura Brothers

EVENT DESCRIPTION ARCHIVE : Tsunami Violin Concert Tour

VENUE: Auckland Town Hall Concert Chamber, Auckland | St. Andrew's on the Terrace, Wellington | The Transitional Cathedral, Christchurch


'The violin symbolizing hope, performed by international violinists around the world, and finally, arriving for the first time in New Zealand'

Originally announced as 'Isomura Brothers presents : JAPAN', the project has become a national concert tour in connection with the International Tsunami Violin Project. A world project of a 'thousand violinists' in relay, performing on the special 'Tsunami Violin' made in remembrance of the deceased and well wishing hopes to survivors of the 2011 Japan Earthquake.

The Isomura Brothers have been given the greatest privilege to perform on this special instrument for the first time in New Zealand. The goal of the International Tsunami Violin Project is to pass on the history of the tsunami earthquake to the audience through classical music.

The Isomura Brothers will be touring through 3 largest cities of New Zealand at venues including the Auckland Town Hall Concert Chamber, Cardboard Cathedral and St. Andrew's on the Terrace. The programme comprises of several NZ Premiers, International Premiers, and tour exclusive arrangements of music written by the most significant and influential composers of Japan.

It is a one of a kind festive event where music from Classical background & Popular culture meet on the same stage! an event not to be missed!


Takayuki Hattori Sanadamaru (New Zealand Premiere)

Ryuichi Sakamoto Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence (Exclusive Arrangement)

Toshiaki Komori Lament to Higashi-Nihon Natural Disaster, for piano & violin. (New Zealand Premiere)

Shiro Sagisu News, Famously.../Hodo2 (New Zealand Premiere)

Akira Ifukube Sonata, for violin and piano (New Zealand Premiere) I. Allegro II. Cantilena, Andante III. Allegro vivace

Nobuo Uematsu | Hitoshi Sakimoto | Yoko Shimomura | Masashi Hamauzu | Final Fantasy, for violin & piano (International Premiere) I. Daichi no Kioku II. Inorigo no Yume

Toru Takemitsu Hika

Joe Hisaishi ​Path of Wind Yasushi Akutagawa Balatta, for violin & piano (International Premiere)

This concert is Supported by the Japanese Society of Auckland and the Japanese Society of Canterbury.

Presented in conjunction with the Classic for Japan Foundation, Tsunami Violin Project, Sojitsu Foundation, Nisuikai,, GEKKAN NZ, ECUBE. Music is performed under the registration and permission of SQUARE ENIX JP, Warner/Chappell Music Australia from Warner Music Group, APRA AMCOS NZ.



bottom of page