Recital at Whittaker's Music Museum

May 28, 2017

Yesterday we travelled to Waiheke Island on ferry to perform at the Whittaker's Music Museum.

It has been our third consecutive years since 2015 that we have been performing recitals at this mind blowing venue, surrounded by numerous historic instruments. We were warmly welcomed by a full house audience of people of the Waiheke Island and also with people who travelled to Waiheke Island just to listen to our concert - Thank you so very much for everyone who came along even at such rainy weather! The concert ended with a full standing ovation and an encore.


As for the programme, we kick started off the concert with the energetic and virtuosic Sanadamaru by Hattori followed by the famous Viennese dances by Kreisler, and finishing off the first half with the often unheard yet beautiful violin sonata by Japanese composer Akira Ifukube. We started the second half of the concert with the soothing Meditation de Thais by Massenet, the wonderful violin sonata by Debussy (one of my all time favourite violin sonatas), and ending with the extraordinary virtuosic arrangement of the Carmen Fantasie by Franz Waxman. For the encore piece we chose Forbidden Colours by Ryuichi Sakamoto. We have always loved performing at the Whittaker's Music Museum and we would definitely love to come back again for a concert next year!


Takayuki Hattori                     Sanadamaru

Fritz Kreisler                             Three Old Viennese Dances

                                                            - Liebesfreud

                                                            - Liebesleid

                                                            - Schon Rosmarin


Akira Ifukube (JP)                    Violin Sonata

                                                            - Allegro

                                                            - Cantilena, Andante

                                                            - Allegro vivace

- interval -


Jules Massenet                         Meditation de Thais​

Takayuki Hattori (JP)                Sanadamaru

Claude Debussy                       Violin Sonata in G minor, L 140

                                                            - Allegro vivo

                                                            - Intermède: Fantasque et léger

                                                            - Finale: Très animé

Franz Waxman                         Carmen Fantasie


- encore -


Ryuichi Sakamoto (JP)            Forbidden Colours


Time: 1 hour 30 min programme



Please reload

a casual blog of musical events & daily life.

Isomura Brothers Japan Concert Tour : OKAYAMA


Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

2014 - 2019 © Isomura Brothers & Mazzoli Trio


© Selected Photos on website taken by

Katia Kalyani Photography。

  • Instagramの社会のアイコン
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon